History Honor Society Established at Trinity; Students Inducted as Charter Members

A new chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society, was established at Trinity Washington University this year.  The chapter installation for the Alpha Nu Iota Chapter at Trinity took place on November 20, 2008.  Dr. Sandra Horvath-Peterson, national vice president of Phi Alpha Theta and a professor of history at Georgetown University, officiated at the chapter installation and welcomed Trinity as the newest chapter of the prestigious honor society.  Trinity’s history faculty participated in the ceremony: Dr. Susan Farnsworth, Sr. Mary Hayes ’57 and Dr. Mary Lynn Rampolla ’76, who is the faculty advisor for the chapter. The history faculty took a leadership role in submitting Trinity’s application to establish a chapter; the application process is rigorous and demands a high level of academic quality.

Phi Alpha Theta 2008

Phi Alpha Theta 2008

Fourteen recent Trinity graduates and current students were inducted as charter members of the chapter:  Gillian Bryant, Allison Dobbs, Katrina Gardner, Makai Kellogg, Mary Kathleen Loughran, Denise Maravilla, Marilyn Marquez, Brigid Otieno, Christine Palmer, Allyson Portee, Angela Puryear, Yvonne Riddle, Rashida Thomas and Ashleigh Wesche.

Phi Alpha Theta, which was established at the University of Arkansas in 1921, is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. Since its inception in 1921, Phi Alpha Theta has grown to more than eight hundred and thirty-nine chapters in fifty states, more than any other accredited four-year college honor society.

Phi Alpha Theta

History Program at Trinity